Author Limelight and Giveaway: Contemporary Romance Novelist, Elise K Ackers…

Today’s Limelighter is a 2012 Romantic Book of the Year (RUBY) finalist, multi published romantic suspense and contemporary romance author, and  a lot of fun to share a taxi with! Her newest release, Dear Stranger, is up for grabs today.  Please welcome the always lovely, Elise K Ackers!

9780857991249_1400

What was the first story you ever wrote?

I’ve been writing since I could first grip a crayon, so it’s hard to remember, but it was probably about Trixie and Shiloh. My dad and I used to send our cat and dog on great adventures – to the moon, to a waterslide park (poor cat). I’ve heard I wrote an ‘episode’ when he was at work that we read before bedtime.

Of all the individuals you have created, do you have a particular favourite? What appeals to you the most about this character?

I shouldn’t have favourites, but the hero in my first published title has resonated with me the most. Jordan Hill, a small-town cop with a hero complex in Small Town Storm is everything I esteem in a man; loyal, witty, brave and off-beat. He’s devastatingly handsome (please excuse the bias) and he has this way of loving people that I admire.

small town storm

Has being published changed you at all? If so, how?

It has – it’s been the override switch for excuses. I’ve always written, but once I landed a publishing contract, I wanted another one. Then another one. Being published has helped me to prioritise my writing in a way I didn’t before, and given me a hunger for the next project, the next release. I’ve got so many goals now, whereas before I just had the one goal: to get published.

What would we find on your bookshelf / e-reader?

On my e-reader there are lots of books by my fellow Escapees and Destineers – I like to support the authors I’m published with. There are also heaps of young adult, new adult and contemporary titles, and a bunch of fantasy and historicals. My book shelf is full or Nora Roberts, Julie Kagawa, J.K.Rowling and classics.

What’s the most unappealing thing you’ve ever eaten?

Escargot. In my mind, I couldn’t separate the delicacy from the slimy garden pest. I couldn’t bring myself to chew it, so I swallowed it whole then drowned it with wine.

unforgettable

If you could be any of the following characters for one day, who would you be and why?


a) Scarlett O’Hara
from Gone with the Wind.

b) Thelma or Louise from Thelma and Louise.

c) Princess Leia from Starwars.

d) Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffanys.

Holly Golightly. Not because I’m a fan of her choices or even the man who claims her heart, but because if I were her for a day, I’d never ditch that poor cat on the raining, frightening streets of New York.

the man plana     aske me to stay

Of all the books in history, which do you wish you wrote and why? 

The Harry Potter series. Sure, there’s the fact that J.K.Rowling captured the hearts of millions of readers worldwide (oh, and the billionaire thing), but my answer’s from a fan perspective. If I’d created these characters, I’d know all the things that never made it to the page. As writers, we have to know details that the readers never need to know – if only for character depth, motivations and continuity. I wish I had greater insight into all of the characters I love so much.

If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why?

The ability to stop or significantly slow time. I’d get so much done! I would be multitasking in the moments between moments. I’d never be late. I’d get to savour the beautiful moments and possibly prevent the bad ones. I’d write thirty books a year and need a dozen pseudonyms so everyone didn’t know to be sick of me.

Elise K. Ackers

If you could go back in time, where would you go and when? What is one thing you would want to take with you?

*romantic sap alert* I’d probably go to my parents’ wedding. They are so in love with one another after almost forty years of marriage, and it would be a joy to sit in a back pew and see them make promises to one another that I know they’ve kept. And I’d take a digital camera.

Can you tell us about your works in progress?

I’m doing the final edits of a New Adult title called One for the Road. It’s about a wallflower who crosses the world to find herself, and the larrikin who finds her first. Set on an organised group tour through Europe, it’s got lots of cultural flavour, lots of settings, and hopefully lots of laughs.

 

Dear Stranger blurb:

A beautiful love letter to the most troublesome of holidays…

Soft-hearted Reese Ahearn is single for Valentine’s Day. Again. But that’s not going to stop her from spreading the holiday’s sentiment on the streets of Melbourne with short, sweet, anonymous love letters, left for strangers to find.

The last thing she expects, however, is a reply…

Excerpt:

Temptation called Adaline forward with a finger curl and a smile. The man’s fairy tale hero good looks had drawn the eyes of every woman in the room, and as he worked his way down the passenger list, speaking briefly with those he would show the world, he alternated between lothario and lad, endearing himself to all.

Adaline could almost hear the quickening heartbeats of the women in line behind her as they moved closer to the spotlight of his attention.

She stepped forward, introduced herself and heaved her suitcase onto the scales.

‘Adaline Sharp,’ he repeated, checking his list, his affected Australian accent hinting at how long he’d been so far from home. He noted the weight of her bag. ‘Solo. Aussie. One bag, fifteen kilos.’

It was a good thing he hadn’t weighed her emotional baggage – her crap was well in excess of the allowable limit. It was also what was going to keep her immune to him.

If you’d like to connect with Elise, here are her links:

Facebook

Website

Twitter

Elise is giving away three e-copies of Dear Stranger. To be in the running all you need to do is enter via the Rafflecopter link below.

<a id=”rc-4a0e7d3″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4a0e7d3/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway

// <!–[CDATA[–>
src=”
// ]]>d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js“></script>

<a id=”rc-4a0e7d4″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4a0e7d4/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway
< script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js“></script>

About Elise K. Ackers:

Elise K. Ackers is a romantic suspense and contemporary romance author based in Melbourne, Australia. She is a 2013 Romantic Book of the Year finalist, print and ebook published with Destiny Romance and Escape Publishing, and known to do some pretty strange stuff in the name of research.  You can chat with her on Facebook and Twitter (@EliseKAckers), and find out more at her author website.

3 thoughts on “Author Limelight and Giveaway: Contemporary Romance Novelist, Elise K Ackers…

  1. Always love your posts, Sarah and Elise’s answers were so exuberant, just like her photo :-). Great excerpt, Elise, the book sounds fabulous!

  2. Iris B says:

    Great interview, ladies, and very interesting new book. I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

